Thursday, April 18, 2013

Deftones Rock ACL-Live

The Grammy Award winning Alternative Metal band, the Deftones appeared at ACL-Live at the Moody Theater on March 29, 2013.

The band, formed in 1988, consists of Chino Moreno (lead vocals and guitar), Stephen Carpenter (guitar), Chi Cheng (bass), Frank Delgado (keyboards and turntables), and Abe Cunningham (drums and percussion). Since 2009, Sergio Vega has been standing in on bass after Cheng was involved in a car accident. *** On a sad note, on April 14, 2013, five years after a car crash left him in a coma, bassist Chi Cheng passed away.

The band was touring in support of their seventh studio album, “Koi No Yokan,” which was released last November and listed by Loudwire Magazine as one of the 10 Best Rock Albums of 2012.

  • Rocket Skates
  • Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)
  • My Own Summer (Shove It)
  • Lhabia
  • Minerva
  • Rosemary
  • Diamond Eyes
  • You’ve Seen the Butcher
  • Sextape
  • Feiticeira
  • Digital Bath
  • Poltergeist
  • Tempest
  • Swerve City
  • Around the Fur
  • Headup
  • Rivière
  • Change (In the House of Flies)
  • Bloody Cape
  • Bored
  • Root
  • Engine No. 9
  • 7 Words

Matchbox Twenty Rocks Austin Stage

On March 25, 2013, Grammy nominated rockers Matchbox 20 stopped in the “Live Music Capital of the World,” Austin, Texas, for a performance at ACL-Live at the Moody Theater. 

The pop-rock band appeared as part of the North American leg of their North Tour. The bands fifth concert tour is in support of their fourth studio album, North.

The group is comprised of Rob Thomas (lead vocals, piano), Paul Doucette (drums, rhythm guitar, backing vocals), Kyle Cook (lead guitar, backing vocals), Brian Yale (bass guitar), and touring drummer Stacy Jones (drums).

For this tour, the band teamed up with Tickets-for-Charity, with a portion of the proceeds being donated to Children’s Health Fund.

Set list:

1. Parade
2. Bent
3. Disease
4. She's So Mean
5. How Far We've Come
6. 3 A.M.
7. Real World
8. If You're Gone
9. Long Day
10. I Will
11. Unwell
12. Radio/Stay With Me
13. So Sad So Lonely
14. English Town
15. The Way
16. Bright Lights

17. Jumpin' Jack Flash
18. Back 2 Good
19. Push

Friday, April 5, 2013

YES Plays ACL-Live

Yes, you heard right. The legendary pioneers of progressive rock, YES appeared on the stage at Austin’s ACL- Live at the Moody Theater on March 20, 2013. The band, whose history spans 45 years and has issued 20 studio albums, is on a world tour playing three of their albums in their entirety.

Newest Member, Jon Davison performs with YES at ACL-Live in Austin, Texas

On this night, enthusiastic YES fans were treated to two and a half hours of music encompassing three albums originally released in the 1970’s: Close To The Edge, Going For The One, and The YES Album, in addition to an encore of the crowd-pleaser “Roundabout.”

YES Founding Member, Chris Squire, performs at ACL-Live for 2013 World Tour

Although the band has had several lineup changes during its history, the current group of talented musicians is able to meld together into a cohesive group capable of mastering all the complexities of this classic rock music. Bassist Chris Squire, a founding member of the group in 1968, is the only member to appear on every YES album. Guitarist Steve Howe joined the group in 1970. Drummer Alan White joined the band in 1972. Keyboardist Geoff Downes, the first member of the group to earn a degree in music, originally joined the group in 1980, but left, returning in 2011. The newest member of the group is lead vocalist, Jon Davison, who joined the band last year.

Steve Howe of YES performs for an enthusiastic crowd in Austin, Texas

The band’s set, which began with the 19-minute title track “Close To The Edge,” also included an impressive light show.


Close to the Edge

1. Close to the Edge

2. And You and I

3. Siberian Khatru

Going For The One

4. Going for the One

5. Turn of the Century

6. Parallels

7. Wondrous Stories

8. Awaken

The Yes Album

9. Yours Is No Disgrace

10. Clap

11. Starship Trooper

12. I've Seen All Good People

13. A Venture

14. Perpetual Change


15. Roundabout

Thursday, April 4, 2013

The Wallflowers

The Wallflowers, with frontman Jakob Dylan, (Yes, he is the son of the legendary Bob Dylan) were the opening act for the March 17, 2013 performance by Eric Clapton at Austin’s Frank Erwin Center.

The Wallflowers are touring in support of their album, “Glad All Over.” Band members include Jakob Dylan, Rami Jaffee, Greg Richling, Stuart Mathis, and Jack Irons.

Set list:

1. The Devil's Waltz

2. Three Marlenas

3. Sleepwalker

4. 6th Avenue Heartache

5. Love is a Country

6. Standing Eight Count (Jakob Dylan song)

7. One Headlight

8. The Difference

9. (What's So Funny 'bout) Peace, Love and Understanding? (Brinsley Schwarz cover)

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Eric Clapton Wraps Up Great SXSW Music Week In Austin

Austin’s week long music showcase, SXSW 2013, featuring thousands of artists from around the globe as well as countless local talent all performing every possible music genre known to mankind, finally came to an end on March 17. After all of the phenomenal talent displayed in our fine city during this crazy festival, which artist would be worthy enough to showcase as the finale with one last mega-show? Why, Eric Clapton, of course.

Eric Clapton, and a few of his friends, thrilled thousands of fans who packed the University of Texas’ Frank Erwin Center on Sunday evening, March 17, 2013. This was the third stop on Eric Clapton’s 2013 50th Anniversary Tour celebrating everything Clapton. The two hour set covered hits representing Clapton’s extensive career including selections from Cream and Derek and the Dominos, his solo hits from the seventies and nineties, as well as four numbers paying tribute to the great bluesman, Robert Johnson.

While Clapton was the star of the show, he shared some of the spotlight with his longtime pianist Chris Stainton, drummer Steve Jordan, and bassist Willie Weeks. Eric also featured his Texas-born supporting guitarist, Doyle Bramhall II on several occasions. Another Texas favorite son, Jimmie Vaughn, the older brother of the late Stevie Ray Vaughn and an incredible musician in his own right, joined Clapton on stage for a fiery cover of Albert Collin’s “Black Cat Bone.” Paul Carrack of Ace, and Squeeze, joined Clapton on covers of his own hits “Tempted” and “How Long.”

Even though Mr. Clapton is almost 70 years old, his voice is still in fine form and his ability to perform mind-blowing riffs and solos, as well as slower blues pieces, is testament to his still great talent. Although it has been reported that Mr. Clapton plans to retire from touring, this performance showed that he isn’t quite done.

Set list:

1. Hello Old Friend

2. My Father's Eyes

3. Tell the Truth (Derek and the Dominos song)

4. Gotta Get Over

5. Black Cat Bone (Albert Collins cover) (with Jimmie Vaughan)

6. Got to Get Better in a Little While (Derek and the Dominos song)

7. Tempted (Squeeze cover) (Paul Carrack on lead vocals)

8. I Shot the Sheriff (Bob Marley & The Wailers cover)

9. Driftin' Blues (Johnny Moore's Three Blazers cover) (with Jimmie Vaughan)

10. Lay Down Sally

11. Tears in Heaven

12. Wonderful Tonight

13. Layla (Derek and the Dominos song)

14. How Long (Ace cover) (Paul Carrack on lead vocals)

15. Stones in My Passway (Robert Johnson cover)

16. Love in Vain (Robert Johnson cover)

17. Crossroads (Robert Johnson cover)

18. Little Queen of Spades (Robert Johnson cover)

19. Cocaine (J.J. Cale cover)


20. Sunshine of Your Love (Cream song)

21. High Time We Went (Joe Cocker cover) (Paul Carrack on lead vocals)